Northern Grampians Shire Council electoral structure review

Ministerial decision

In February 2024 the Minister for Local Government, the Hon Melissa Horne MP, accepted the recommendation of the ERAP that Northern Grampians Shire Council will adopt a multi-councillor ward structure with a total of six councillors, three wards and two councillors per ward. The new names for the three wards are Central Ward, Grampians Ward and Kara Kara Ward.

The decision is final and will take effect in the lead up to the local government elections in October 2024.

Northern Grampians Shire Council is currently divided into four wards with a total of seven councillors; one ward with three councillors (Stawell); one ward with two councillors (Kara Kara); and two wards with one councillor each (Central and South West).

Read our latest media release here.

Electoral structure review

During April/May 2023, an Electoral Representation Advisory Panel (ERAP) appointed by the Minister for Local Government conducted an extensive review of the electoral structure of Northern Grampians Shire Council before recommending the new structure to the Victorian Government. The preliminary report can be viewed here.

The panel made its final recommendation to the Minister for Local Government on Tuesday 9 May.  

Further information on the review can be found here.


The Local Government Act 2020 (the Act) introduced several changes, including to the electoral structures local councils must have. Throughout 2023–24, 39 Victorian local councils will undergo electoral structure or ward boundary reviews to ensure they comply with the Act.

Northern Grampians Shire Council was reviewed by an independent electoral representation advisory panel, with administrative and technical support from the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC). The panel considered if the council:

  • has an appropriate number of councillors
  • should be one large unsubdivided area, or
  • should be subdivided into wards.