Northern Grampians Shire Council formed in 1995 and is made up of the former Shire of Stawell, City of Stawell, Town of St Arnaud and Shire of Kara Kara.

The shire is divided into four wards, Kara Kara, Stawell, Central and South West, with one to three Councillors representing each ward.

Council is elected by the people of Northern Grampians and reports to and is accountable to its community under the Local Government Act 1989 and 2020.

As an organisation Northern Grampians Shire Council works in partnership with all levels of government and local community members to deliver over 60 services to the Northern Grampians community.