Murray Emerson


Stawell Ward


First elected: 27 October 2012

Cr Murray Emerson represents the Stawell Ward. He was first elected to Northern Grampians Shire Council in October 2012 and has served as Mayor on five occasions; 2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2019-2020, 2020-2021, and from August 2022 - November 2022 when Cr Emerson kindly took over the role of Mayor following the passing of the elected Mayor, the late Tony Driscoll.

The Mayor Emeritus Award was conferred on Cr Emerson by the Municipal Association of Victoria on 9 October 2020, after he had served three consecutive Mayoral terms. 

Cr Emerson has a background in law enforcement and is passionate about Northern Grampians Shire.


Cr Emerson currently represents council on the following committees:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Stawell Aerodrome Advisory Committee
  • Stawell Gift Event Management Pty Ltd
  • Stawell Recreation Advisory Group
  • Municipal Association of Victoria