Roads and streets

Council is the relevant rural authority for approximately 3408 kms of local roads as well as the bridges, footpaths and other ancillary assets.

Council has developed a Road Management Plan pursuant to the Road Management Act 2004.

The Road Management Plan sets minimum maintenance standards for the road assets based on an established hierarchy. It sets a program for safety and defect inspections and response times for rectifying defects on the road network.

Other roads within the shire that are maintained by other road authorities include:


These roads are maintained by VicRoads and their contractors and include Western Highway, Sunraysia Highway and Wimmera Highway.

Arterial Roads

Declared arterial roads are currently maintained by VicRoads and their contractors and include:
  • Stawell-Warracknabeal Road
  • Ararat-Stawell Road
  • Donald-Stawell Road
  • Murtoa-Glenorchy Road
  • Charlton-St Arnaud Road
  • Stawell-Avoca Road
  • Ararat-St Arnaud Road
  • St Arnaud-Wycheproof Road
  • Maryborough-St Arnaud Road
  • Mount Victory Road
  • Grampians Road
  • Pomonal Road

For defects on highways or arterial roads contact VicRoads on 131170