Audit committee

The Audit Committee is an independent advisory committee to council and operates under an  Audit Committee Charter(PDF, 80KB)The committee was established to assist in the effective conduct of council’s responsibilities for good governance, the management of risk, financial reporting and maintenance of reliable systems and internal controls. 

The Audit Committee will consist of at least three members, the majority of whom must be independent.  Council appoints the members and the chair.  The chair must be independent.consists of the following members :


Mr Peter Knights (Chair) - first appointed 2002
Mr Tony Roberts - appointed August 2013
Mr Greg Partikas - appointed September 2017

Independent members are appointed for a year term and are eligible to be reappointed after the expiry of their term.


Cr Kevin Erwin - member since 2003
Cr Murray Emerson - member since 2014

Councillors are appointed annually to the Audit Committee. The Mayor may be a member of the Audit Committee if they are one of the councillor representatives.