NGSC Councillors 2016-2020

Back Row L-R: Cr Hosemans, Cr Emerson (Mayor), Cr Erwin, Cr Haswell Front Row L-R: Cr Reid, Cr Driscoll, Cr Hyslop

There are seven Northern Grampians Shire Councillors who are democratically elected by the residents and ratepayers of Northern Grampians Shire to represent four wards, Kara Kara (2 Councillors), Central (1 Councillor), Stawell (3 Councillors) and South West (1 Councillor). The current council was elected on 22 October 2016 and will serve for four years. The current Mayor is Cr Murray Emerson who will serve a one year term.

Our councillors are dedicated to representing the interests of residents and ratepayers. They provide leadership and guidance and exist to improve communication between the community and council.

Our councillors have taken an Oath of Office to carry out their role impartially, to the best of their ability, and in the best interests of the municipality.

Councillors are also subject to a Councillor Code of Conduct(PDF, 5MB). The Code is reviewed within four months of each general election.