Australia Day Awards

The Northern Grampians Shire Council assists the Australia Day Committee (Victoria) to celebrate Australia Day at the local level. Local government awards provide an important opportunity to acknowledge local achievers for their outstanding contributions. 

Nominations open for 2019 Australia Day awards

Northern Grampians Shire residents are being encouraged to nominate for the 2019 Australia Day awards. The awards are presented at the annual Australia Day celebrations in Stawell and St Arnaud and aim to recognise the contributions of members of our community.

Awards categories for 2019

Stawell, Central and South West Wards

  • Citizen of the Year 
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Local Hero

Kara Kara Ward

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Senior of the Year

Application forms are available online below or from both Stawell and St Arnaud customer service centres.

Australia Day nomination form >>

Australia Day 2018 Award Winners

Kara Kara Ward

Citizen of the Year, Peter Knights(PDF, 47KB)
Young Citizen of the Year, Nathan Grigg(PDF, 47KB)
Senior of the Year, Jean Gloster(PDF, 47KB)
Community Event of the Year, St Arnaud District Hospital(PDF, 48KB)

Stawell, Central and South West Wards 

Citizen of the Year, Murray Hart(PDF, 47KB)
Young Citizen of the Year, Melissa Sanders(PDF, 47KB)
Local Hero Award, John Hunt(PDF, 46KB)
Community Event of the Year, CGLLEN Stawell Skate Park Day(PDF, 47KB)

 Nominations for the 2020 Australia Day Awards open in October 2019.