Recognising business leaders

Published on 19 June 2017

GP bus awards web button_2017-01 (2).jpg

Northern Grampians Shire Council will join forces with Ararat Rural City Council and Pyrenees Shire Council to recognise business leaders from the region at the 2017 Neoen Grampians Pyrenees Business Awards.


Recognising the best and brightest from the Grampians Pyrenees Business Community, the 2017 incarnation of the awards was launched yesterday at Great Western’s Seppelt Winery, where NGSC Mayor, Cr Tony Driscoll said recognising the achievements of the local business community were a key pillar of Council’s commitment to nurturing business investment in the region.


“Businesses are the lifeblood of regional communities such as ours,” Cr Driscoll said.

“They invest in our region, they offer employment in our region and they generate tourism for our region. Therefore, it is vitally important that we recognise those who stand out in the diverse and vibrant business community we have here within the Grampians Pyrenees region.”


Awards are available for the following categories:


  • Federation University Australia Excellence in Professional Services Award

  • The Weekly Advertiser Excellence in Agricultural/Viticultural Award

  • Pyrenees Shire Council Best Retail Business Award

  • Ararat Rural City Council Manufacturing Award

  • Best’s Excellence in Hospitality Food & Beverage Award

  • Gason Excellence in Trades and Construction Award

  • MIXXFM/3WM Best Tourism Attraction or Service Award

  • Grampians Pyrenees Primary Care Partnership Health Workplace Award

  • Northern Grampians Shire Council Best Community/Social Enterprise Award

  • Regional Development Australia Grampians Best Major Tourism Event Award

  • Goldacres Best Community Event Award

  • Skillinvest Apprentice/Trainee of the Year Award

  • Simpsons... The Labour Hire Specialists Employee of the Year

  • Federation Business School Best New Business Award 

  • Neoen Business of the Year Award

  • Southern Cross Austereo People's Choice Award 


Applications for the awards are open from today until 1 September, with online nomination forms available at, while hard copy forms are available at Council offices, libraries and visitor information centres. Written applications will then be assessed by a panel of judges before finalists are announced in early October. For more information, visit