Our latest official Australian Citizens

Published on 31 October 2019

Making the pledge is the final step to becoming an Australia Citizen.

A formal part of the Citizenship Ceremony conducted by the Mayor of Northern Grampians Shire Council, Cr Kevin Erwin is the message from the Hon David Coleman MP, Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs:

“Today, you become an Australian Citizen.

We are immensely proud of what we have achieved as a nation, and we welcome you to join us.

Our history and culture has been forged over thousands of years, first through Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and more recently with people from all corners of the earth.

Australia has succeeded as a nation by embracing - and defending - our national values.  We believe in freedom, in the rule of law, in democracy. We believe that all people are equal, regardless of their cultural background, gender, race or religion.

We are a resilient nation.  We have overcome World Wars, depression, drought and flood.  We stand with other strong democracies in helping to defend and protect hard fought freedoms. 

By committing yourself to Australia today, you have chosen to embrace our nation and its values.  Like so many millions of people throughout our history, you have decided to take on the rights - and responsibilities - of Australian Citizenship.

On behalf of the Australian Government, I congratulate you on reaching this very special day.  It’s now your responsibility to join all of us in building an even stronger nation.”

Cr Erwin said, “I congratulate each of you on your decision to become an Australian Citizen, a decision welcomed not only by me, but by all Australians.”


From L to R: Angela Fromm (German Republic), Aldrin, Lei Bastian, Lei Andreas and Ana Merea Calantog (Philipines), Cr Kevin Erwin (Mayor NGSC), Sepe Illig (Nauru) and Ada Rosa Camargo Sandoval (Peru).



Tagged as: