Council celebrates 150 years of the Borough of Stawell

Published on 08 November 2019

This month marks 150 years since the proclamation of the Borough of Stawell. An amalgamation of Stawell, Stawell West and Quartz Reef, the Borough of Stawell was officially declared on Friday 12 November 1869.

Originally known as Pleasant Creek, Stawell was first settled as a gold mining township. The area was proclaimed Stawell Township in 1858, named for Sir William Stawell who was the Chief Justice of Victoria at the time. This same area was proclaimed a ‘Roads District’ in 1864 and declared the Shire of Stawell. In 1869 the Borough of Stawell was proclaimed.

The Borough of Stawell remained for 88 years until it was renamed the Town of Stawell in 1957 and then the City of Stawell in 1989. In January 1995 the City of Stawell was amalgamated with the Shire of Stawell, Town of St Arnaud and the Shire of Kara Kara to become the Northern Grampians Shire. The shire was originally administered by three commissioners. Seven Councillors were elected in 1997.

Northern Grampians Shire Council Mayor, Councillor Kevin Erwin is looking forward to celebrating this occasion with the local community.

“Our town has a really rich history,” said Cr Erwin.

“It started as a tiny mining outpost, competing with the likes of Ballarat and Bendigo, and went on to become a thriving part of regional Victoria.”

“I invite members of the community along to the Gallery to enjoy morning tea and find out more about the history of the Borough of Stawell.”

“Volunteers from the Stawell Historical Society will be on hand to chat to you about the history of our region and answer any questions you may have.”

The morning tea and historical display will be held at The Gallery, adjacent to the Stawell Historical Society at 10.30am on Tuesday 12 November.

Borough of Stawell 150 Year Celebration

The Gallery (adjacent to Stawell Historical Society), 49 Longfield Street, Stawell

Morning tea and official proceedings: 10.30am – 12.30pm

Display open to the public: 12.30pm – 3.00pm


Tagged as: