2020-21 NGSC Draft Budget

Budget front 2020-21

Northern Grampians Shire Council adopted in principle the 2020-21 Draft Budget at the ordinary council meeting on Monday 6 July 2020. 

Council is required under Section 129 of the Local Government Act 1989 to give public notice of the preparation of the proposed budget and provide opportunity in accordance with Section 223 of the Local Government Act 1989 for persons to make submissions on any proposal contained within the budget.

On this page you will find information about the proposed budget, how you can have your say, and who to contact for any questions or queries you have about the budget or budget process. 



Community Consultation 

The proposed budget document is available for public comment for a period of four weeks from the date of in principle adoption. 

Council invites submissions regarding the proposed budget from all members of the community until close of business 6 August 2020. Submitters will also have an opportunity to be heard in person by council regarding their submission to the budget process. 

Any submission on any proposal (or proposals) contained in the proposed budget will be heard by council at a Special Council
Meeting to be held at 12.30pm on 10 August 2020 at the Stawell Town Hall. 

Submissions regarding the 2020-21 public Draft Budget can be made via the online submission form, via post to PO Box 580, Stawell, VIC, 3380 or email to ngshire@ngshire.vic.gov.au.


Legislation, Council Plan, Strategy and Policy Implications

The preparation of the Council Budget 2020-21 has been undertaken in accordance with the Local Government Act 1989, the Cultural and Recreational Lands Act 1963, the Council Farm Rate Differential Policy and the Local Government Model Budget 2020/21.

 Councillor Budget Briefing          29 June
 Council Meeting (in principle adoption)     6 July 
 Begin public consultation  7 July
 Close public consultation  6 August
 Hear budget submissions  10 August
 Council Meeting (adopt Budget)  10 August


Cr Rob Haswell - Sloane Street Residential Development 


Cr Murray Emerson - North Park Multipurpose Clubroom Development

Cr Merilee Reid and Cr Tony Driscoll - Lord Nelson Park Multipurpose Sporting Facility Development

Cr Kevin Erwin - Navarre and Marnoo Community Plans

Cr Karen Hyslop - Former Waites Robson Site, Stawell

Cr Jason Hosemans - Great Western Trail

Cr Karen Hyslop -Taylor's Gully Lighting Project

Cr Kevin Erwin - Roads, Bridges, and Infrastructure