Audit Committee

The Audit Committee was constituted by Council in 1999 and operates under an Audit Charter(PDF, 142KB) that was reviewed in June 2013 . 

The Audit Committee has the responsibility for advising the Council on :

  • seeking resolution on any disagreements between management and the external auditors on financial reporting
  • reviewing all auditing, planning and outcomes
  • seeking any information it requires from Councillors and Council staff via the Chief Executive Officer and external parties
  • formally meeting with Council staff, internal and external auditors as necessary.

The Committee currently consists of the following members :


Mr Peter Knights (Chair) - first appointed 2002
Mr Tony Roberts - appointed August 2013
Mr Rabin Bangaar - resigned November 2016 (Position Vacant)


Cr Kevin Erwin
Cr Murray Emerson