Your Council

Northern Grampians Shire Council formed in 1995. The shire is made up of the former Shire of Stawell, City of Stawell, Town of St Arnaud and Shire of Kara Kara.

Northern Grampians Shire is divided into four wards(PDF, 237KB), with one to three Councillors representing each ward.

Northern Grampians Shire Councillors are responsible for making decisions about local issues and making strategic decisions that affect the long term sustainability of the shire.

Council is elected by the people of Northern Grampians and reports to and is accountable to their community under the Local Government Act 1989.

As an organisation Northern Grampians Shire Council works in partnership with all levels of government and local community members to deliver over 60 services to the Northern Grampians community.

Our Core Values

The Northern Grampians Shire Council is a skilled and capable organisation which is:

Responsive: through community engagement, listening to and responding appropriately to community needs

Accountable: being transparent and honest in dealings and responsible in decision making

Fair: being informed and impartial in decision making

Innovative: being positive and able to find solutions

Sustainable: stewardship of the community, environment, economy and Council

Respectful: of people's views and diversity